September 7, 2009

Spring Restaurant [September 1, 2009]

Posted in 101 in 1001, Restaurants at 9:30 am by Heather


On Tuesday night, my friends generally go out for Beer Tuesday, and I occasionally join them.  However, since Julie wanted to join us to drop off some tickets that I was the middle man for, and Beth isn’t drinking these days so we decided to start off my 101 in 1001 with a bang and head for a new restaurant.

Beth has her own list of “Restaurants to try”, and  Spring was one of them.  It’s located 3 blocks from the Damen blue line stop in Bucktown/Wicker park, and has gotten rave reviews for its seafood.

I wish I’d gotten a shot of the outside, but it’s in this rather industrial-ish section of the neighborhood, slightly away from the “regular” Wicker Park area.

I got there earlier than everyone else, and sat at the bar and had a very nice Pinot Noir while waiting for Julie and Beth to show up.  The ambiance is short on lighting – everything is very dim, which is why I had to take the menu home to actually get a decent picture of it. 

I had thought to get the sweet corn soup, but after Beth and I interrogated the waiter, I had decided on the lemongrass soup, which the waiter said was “so good you’ll be updating your facebook status about it”, and the Barramundi.  The restaurant was also having a tasting menu, which had the soup and a different preparation of Barramundi, and based on the waiter’s recommendation, I went with the one on the menu instead of the tasting.

I didn’t go wrong; the soup was divine, and the fish was delectable, although the dumplings weren’t quite what I expected, it was tasty.

The chef also sent out a wee soup tasting which was a shot of coconut curry potato type soup, and whilst we passed on dessert, we also got a lagniappe of a basil mint hot chocolate (shot sized) which was very delightful as well.

More pictures from Spring [Click on any picture to see more detail]:

coconut curry soup lemongrass soup
Julie’s sugar snap pea salad Australian Barramundi

1 Comment »

  1. […]  Spring (Bucktown/Wicker Park) – Sept 1, 2009 […]


Leave a Reply

